The issue with tonsils – Advice needed

My tonsils are inflamed and toxic, they are actually poisoning me, and are now resistant to antibiotics . I have seen an ear nose and throat surgeon and have a surgery date for the 1st of August to have the buggers taken out.

My issue is at the moment, every time I push myself to exercise, do my long runs and training sessions, I end up getting sicker. My Doctor has advised me to stop stressing my body and ease off my training… This is difficult and is upsetting me. I want  to do a half marathon in 3 weeks that I have entered, but every time I push myself I get sicker and taking 3 – 4 days to get better;  The tonsils get worse, I find it hard to swallow and I get a temperature and headaches that don’t go away..

It seems like a no brainer, stop pushing myself… But that is what I do now – I push myself, I love the feeling of pushing my limits, long runs and proving I can do it…

I am really unsure about continuing my running training at the moment, or if i will be able to compete in the half marathon… this makes me want to cry a little…

To all my runner friends out there, Any one got any advice here? Should I keep going with some 10km & 15km and then push it on the day? or stop and take a break on the long runs until the tonsils are gone???

Till next time, Lin.

3 thoughts on “The issue with tonsils – Advice needed

  1. If it was me, I’d forget about the training (no matter how hard it is) and get the tonsils sorted. Think about the long term, not just 3-6 months I’m talking about the years to come. There will be plenty of other races to do in the future. In theory, you could do yourself more harm by continuing to train/race. Probably not the sort of thing you would want to hear I know. Perhaps you could continue to work on your flexibility/yoga?

    • Hey John, thanks for the feedback, I think that you are right… It will be hard, but after much reflection I have decided to do as you suggest and take a break, get better then full steam ahead..

Leave a Reply

