Winter Tea Tonic

It feels like my throat and I have been at war for the longest time. I have had bouts of tonsillitis for the past few years, at least 4 to 5 times a year. It is frustrating and when it gets bad, the tonsils end up infected and then send their infection around via my blood stream. Fun times….

I have an appointment with an Ear Nose and Throat surgeon, I have waited for 2 months and have around 2 weeks until I see him, and hopefully it will be all systems go and he can take them out. The sooner the better 🙂

Until then I will keep drinking a little drink that I like to call my lemon ginger winter tonic. It is very soothing for the throat. All it contains is lemon juice, fresh ginger, honey and hot water and I thought I would share it for the cold winter ahead. It is a lovely drink even if you’re not sick.

The lemon juice aids in decreasing dehydration, has vitamin C which assists in promoting and protecting the immune system.

Ginger is used in many asian countries steeped as a tea to help with the common cold and flu. Ginger has been shown to reduce free radicals and promote gut health.

Honey apart from tasting nice and being a good sweetener, has been used in Ayurveda (indian medicine) for 4000 years to rebalance the body. In more recent years honey has been proven chemically to have antibacterial and antiseptic  properties.

So the drink is easy to make, tastes great, soothes my throat and can’t be doing me any harm.The recipe is as simple as this all placed straight into my favourite big red mug.. (the mug doesn’t need to be red but it is my favourite color and cheerful)

You’ll need the juice of half a fresh lemon, 1 teaspoon of finely grated fresh ginger root, 1 tablespoon of honey. Pour over boiling water… Wait to cool a little and drink.

Personally using fresh lemon, ginger and good quality honey is a must, I also love to eat the ginger at the end of the drink as it has been cooked by the boiling water and I think that it gives me an extra boost. You can adjust the amounts of each to suit your tastes, but remember the sugar content in the honey!

Enjoy, Lin xox

Leave a Reply

