Crispy Bacon & Face! – Summer Running Tips…

Red Faced - Burnt and Embarrassed at my own stupidity!

Saturday morning started off perfectly… It was a blissful start to the weekend, I met a friend for breakfast at the beach cafe and overlooking the water we caught up. I ate a delicious corn fritters, with crispy bacon and sipped chai lattes.

Then pulling out our books or in actual fact our kindles, (I do love my new kindle) we sat reading and sharing the best bits of our books… Perfect morning, weather was just warm, slightly overcast and the plan was after the 3 hour breakfast to go home, change and head out on a run.

So that was what I did. Went home, got changed and while it was still just warm and overcast I headed out… Rookie mistake for summer running #1 – I forgot to put on sunscreen and clear zinc…For some reason it didn’t occur to me – I am not used to running in the afternoons, and prefer night or early morning before dawn.

So out I headed, into the overcast Melbourne weather down to my beach path to run.

Before I started I decided to try for 8km today rather than the 6km I thought of earlier in the day, my rationale was if I was not going well at the 3km point I could turn around and shorten it to a 6km run.

Recently I have been struggling to run in summer, my heart rate has been topping out causing me to stop briefly, so I set my Garmin watch to just show my heart rate, and ran to keep it stable rather than focus on time, it was a pleasant run, it was warming up and I was working up a great sweat, at the 3km run I felt great, strong and ready to take it to the 4km turn around. Then the clouds cleared and it got warmer, It was just before the 4km turn around that I realized that I had not put on my zinc or sunscreen… There was not a lot I could do about it now, as I was just as far from home as I was close.

I didn’t feel like I was burning (I found out later I was), and my heart rate was climbing, but still under control, so I turned at 4km and headed back. I ran back to my start point at Mordi beach, then very hot – hopped straight into the water to cool off… It wasn’t enough, the damage had been done, and despite feeling great about completing the 8km I was headed for trouble .

Getting home I noticed that my nose and forehead were a little red. I had some water, quick shower and nap before heading to work at 6pm. I woke redder than I thought I would, and continued to crisp up as the night went on, Initially at work I felt sick, but after 2 hours felt better – that is until 1am – I was sicker than I have been in a long time, couldn’t stop being sick and had to call my parents to come pick me up and drive me home….

My work colleague believed that I had heat stoke and that despite all the water I was drinking my body (face, neck and chest) were still cooking and had become redder as the night went on.  I was crispier than the bacon I had for breakfast.

So now I am at home, it is Sunday night, I have had to call in sick and I am trying to sip water – sit in the air con and give my body time to recover… my face is puffy and red and I am very grateful for good friends who will deliver Gatorade and Icypoles 🙂 which have made me feel a lot better!

What I have learnt about summer running –

*Always, always always wear sunscreen and clear zinc – wear a hat or visor if hats make you too hot.

*Listen to your body – Run to a heart rate marker not time, – you still run hard and workout, some days you can’t do your usual pace and this is ok.

*Be smart about the time of day you run… If I must run during the early arvo – loop around water bottle stops or stop along the route more often to hydrate.

*Make sure I am adequately hydrated before the run.

*Still walk out to cool down stretch out after the run despite being hot.

*Re-hydrate after the run and cool down quickly if over hot.

*If you feel sick – rest – (don’t try to stay at work, no one wants to throw up in front of colleagues, and no one wants to see that)

Well till next time, I am off to watch the tennis and keep hydrating..

(A Very Crispy) Lin xox

One thought on “Crispy Bacon & Face! – Summer Running Tips…

  1. That sucks. I will take note of this for sure! I have been running at night, but if I do venture out in arvo time, will make sure I do it right. Hope you’re feeling better!

Leave a Reply

