Food Day Tuesday – Taco Burger & Mashed Peas

Taco Burger with Mashed Peas

Carbs kill me, I love them – but they don’t love me. I don’t find eating bread, rice or pasta easy, it is a band thing – but that is not the full story. Carbs are a good fuel, but your body has to burn through them first and if they don’t get burnt, they get stored very quickly. There is also the role that Carbs play your blood sugar, insulin levels and the way our bodies store and use fat..

I am no an expert on this, I am still reading about it and learning more, but for the time being I am eating low carb and have found that the protein I eat fills me quicker and keeps me fuller for longer.  So today I felt like a burger – but did not want the bread or mash potato that I used to love with a burger due to the carbs… So I made some mashed peas with it.

The burger was easy –

mix 300g of good quality mince,

1/2 a diced onion

1/2 teaspoon of taco mix powder (more or less depending on your own tastes).

Mix it all together and form two patties (one for today, one for tomorrow) If they aren’t staying together you could pop them in the fridge for a bit or add a little almond meal to keep it carb free and not use breadcrumbs.                                                                  Spray a frypan and seal each side before lowering the heat and cooking through.

The mashed peas was simply popping your desired amount of peas 1/2 cup for me for one serve into salted boiling water, boil until soft (about 15 mins) then drain, and mash with a small knob of butter and salt and pepper to taste.

I like to pop a little BBQ sauce on top of the burger and use the peas as a bit of a sauce too! It was very tasty, although the photo above doesn’t really do it justice.  The taco seasoning just gives it a little extra flavor without being hot (as I only use a little).

There is a great blog that my friend put me onto The Stone Soup (link below) – It is a great site with heaps of simple recipes that are tasty easy and usually have 5 or less ingredients (GOLD)…

The girl that writes the blog (Jules) has a degree in food science  and has e-books that you can download… I can recommend the free one to start with and also the one called “reclaim your waist line” for low carb meals. I was a bit inspired by her for the burger today, and the mashed peas… I have made a few of her recipes and can highly recommend them for easy and tastiness. But i still love to experiment and make my own food too – Oh here is the link..  stonesoup — 5 ingredient recipes

Till next time

Lin xox


Leave a Reply

