Food Day, Tuesday; Tuna, Chickpea and Asparagus Salad

Ready to be eaten!

Summer is the season for a good salad & I love a good salad.

I had some asparagus that needed to be used, and I needed to eat Protein after an hour and a half of training. So with those two in mind I grabbed the asparagus, a can of tuna & threw together a few more items to make filling yet light salad.

I was cooking for myself tonight,  this will serve 1 person for a full dinner. (Mind you I only managed to finish about half of it.)

I put it all on a dinner plate as I go and then it is ready to eat…So what is in it?                     1 Large Handful of rocket and baby spinach leaf mix.                                                        1/6 Red Capsicum (Bell Pepper) cut into strips.                                                                                           6 Asparagus Spears (panfried in olive oil spray for 5 -8 mins until they brown a little)        1/4 of a red onion in slices. (I wilted in the hot pan with the asparagus for a minute) Remove the Asparagus and Onion – add to salad plate.                                                               1/2 can of Chickpeas (200g) (drained, washed and warmed in the pan for 1 min) plate up     90gm Canned Tuna (flaked over the top)                                                                        40gm Goats Feta (or regular if you prefer)

I heat and reduce a couple of tablespoons of balsamic vinegar in a pan and then spoon over the top, if you don’t like balsamic substitute for your preferred dressing.

Enjoy you summer salads!

Lin xox

One thought on “Food Day, Tuesday; Tuna, Chickpea and Asparagus Salad

Leave a Reply

