(Dancing) Running in the Dark

They say it changes when the sun goes down!

I loved the song by Bruce Springsteen when I was a kid… But what I love more now is running in the Dark.

I love to get home from shift, and before I can make any excuses throw on my running kit and head out onto the streets.

The brain game to get out of the door and actually run, usually begins at the Hwy turn off about 1km from home. This is how it plays out…

Fit Lin – Mmm I should go for a run now.

Lazy Lin – Nah you had a hard shift  (is there any other kind?) don’t worry about it!

Fit Lin – Comon, You know you love a run, It’s that old attitude that helped keep you fat.

Lazy Lin – Oh yeah, your right thanks for the reminder.

Fit Lin – No worries..

Somedays It is harder than that – I get home and am still back and forth – Friday morning after a Thursday night shift was one of those mornings. I walked to the fridge to get some cold water and saw a Post It note that I put on there a few weeks ago – the quote was something I picked up off a TV show – the football coach said “All it takes is all you got” It stuck a chord with me at the time –  and again when I read it this morning.

What is All I Got? – Well if i am breathing and healthy enough to go for a run I should damn well be out there. So I put on my gear and walked out the door… As soon as I started to turn the legs over, I felt happy and remembered that I LOVE TO RUN….

One Big Plus is that I really love to run in the dark..  I came across an article on Nike a few days ago that talks about how we think we run faster in the dark. (see link below)   It is all about how our brains perceive the world around us, depth perception and the difference the dark makes to that. I don’t really care why, but I always prefer to run in the dark. And on Friday morning I ran the quickest back half that I have ever done over 6km. My back end (the last 3km of my run not my butt 😉 )  was all run in sub 7min k’s… A goal I have been working towards cracking by the end of this year. Whoo Hoo!

Till next time – Lin xox

Nike Running – News Blog – Night Speed Ahead: Why We Run Faster in the Dark.

Leave a Reply

